Yearning for sanctuary

Life is busy. No, let me be more honest: all too often, my life feels chaotic. And sometimes, I thrive in that chaos. I find in it vast potential for creativity! After all, wasn’t Creation was born out of primordial chaos?

But since I am a mere mortal, the demands (and occasional delights!) of juggling 3 double-digit-aged sons with a full-time job, part-time ministry, 3 cats, 1 dog, and loving spouse are sometimes more than I can handle.stones-balance-Mark-Evans

So, I am learning to savor the sanctuary I find in the midst of this life.

For me, sanctuary is connected to both geography and chronology–a physical space and a space in time. Space to be alone, to be quiet, to be introspective. Space to connect with myself and with Spirit in an intentional and centering way. Learning the ancient contemplative practices of the Christian church have become a vital part of seeking and savoring sanctuary. And it is my hope that beginning something as apparently narcissistic as a personal blog will create a new kind of sanctuary–a space and place to cultivate my creative side again, to become a repository for my ruminations (be they liturgical, parental, theatrical, or incidental).

And as in other parts of my life, I am willing to share–both this sanctuary and any insights that might be conceived and birthed here. Just know that mostly, this is a sanctuary for me. Enter into it peaceably–or be free to leave in the same spirit. Grace and peace be yours, as I try to make them mine.

Leave a comment